Every new semester I come up with problem solving class to help my students develop their technical abilities in paint.  In addition student’s will further discover who they are as  painters, what their style might be.  The class will study other painters artwork as well as each others.

I teach mostly all level classes which I think all  students benefit from.  The new ones see where their work can develop to.  The seasoned students tend to forget some of the needed basics.  I always liked the fact that famous musicians still sit down and play the scales. We all need that structure to keep our skills strong to express our visions.

I would like students to work on at least two paintings this semester.  I would like one painting on a white, well primed canvas.  By this I mean, put some extra coats of acrylic based gesso, (this is an acrylic primer that is coated on the canvas to seal off the surface).  This will make your painting experience much easier and more pleasureful.  You can do this the first class, if you have never done this before.  The second painting, I would like to have that surface painted in a bright color, i.e.:  orange, red, pink.  Both surfaces have a huge impact on how we perceive color and how light responds to a colored painted surface.  This will help us dive into the exploration of color and light.  White canvas first class.

The subject matter will be up to the individual.  I will set up an elaborate set up for those  who would like a given subject matter.  If you choose to work from a photo, please make a black and white copy as well as versions of the color copy.  Don’t forget to bring in a sketch pad to help study your subject matter as well as designing it.

We will address color mixing, layering of color and its chemistry.  What makes a painting glow and another look flat?   I will demonstrate some glazing techniques that can be used and applied to creating more depth in a painting.

I hope this helps to guide you into our fall class.  I am looking forward.